Fenelon Falls: The village was first discovered by the Paleo Indians more then 10,000 years ago. Later, in 1619, Samuel de Champlain, travelled the early trading routes and through his journies had noticed that Huron Indians who lived in the region depended on agriculture and hunting .
In the autumn of 1668 two Sulpicians, Messieurs Fenelon and Trouve, established a mission at a village of the Cayuga Indians, on the Bay of Quinte. Abbe Fenelon spent years travelling the route of the Trent Severn Waterway ministering to his flocks along the way. The village was a natural location for early mission settlement nestled between the two lakes, Cameron and Sturgeon at the site of a 23 ft. waterfall. During those early years the area was involved mainly in the fur trade. It wasn't until the 1800's that the first pioneers settled in the area permanently.
Known first as Cameron Falls after the first land owner, Honourable Duncan Cameron, who was the Provincial Secretary of Upper Canada from 1817-1838. When Cameron died in 1838 the land was sold to the founders, James Wallis and Robert Jameson. In later years the village was named Fenelon Falls.
Article Credit Kawartha Community Access Program
Photo courtesy of Ann Painter